If You Liked Harry Potter Read . . . The Hunger Games Trilogy

Photobucket

Photo Credit 1

The connection that this series has to Harry Potter isn’t as obvious. Many people who read fantasy read it to escape to a different world. Sometimes that world is light and magical. Sometimes it’s dark and horrifying.

From my experience, this series does appeal to some Harry Potter fans, especially those who liked Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

I absolutely would not recommend this series to younger readers who are bothered by violence or death. As a 22-year-old, I wasn’t bothered by it, but it is classified as a Young Adult novel and some of those readers might be.

This synopsis was in my previous review:

[The series] is set in a dystopian North America, known as Panem. Panem has 12 (formally 13) districts, and is ruled by the Capitol. As a result of a failed rebellion, most of the citizens of Panem are struggling to get by. Another consequence? The Hunger Games, an annual televised fight-to-the-death tournament that the entire nation is required to watch. Two “tributes” from each district, a boy and a girl between the ages of 12 and 18, are selected each year to compete. Only the winner will survive.

Katniss Everdeen, the main character, is the tribute from District 12. Although she sees the tournament as a death sentence, she volunteers to compete so that her younger sister doesn’t have to. Here’s the catch—Peeta, her fellow tribute from District 12—is in love with her.

In addition to merely surviving, Katniss must figure out what Peeta is playing at. Does he really love her? Does he want more sponsors? After all, they can’t both survive.

Although I genuinely liked this series, parts of it are not written very well.

  • By default, I always cringe a bit when I realize that something will be narrated from the first-person. I blame Twilight for this.
    • Part of the reason why this bothers me is that there is too much description about hair and clothing. Do I care if she braided her hair or left it down? No.
  • As a writer, Collins lacks subtlety. Her flashbacks and foreshadowing are painfully obvious and poorly-written.
  • Peeta—I think that this character could have been great, but as he’s written, he just falls flat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *